> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://help.orderdesk.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://help.orderdesk.com/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-delete-a-store.md).

# How to Delete a Store

This guide outlines the process by which you can permanently delete your Order Desk store. If you would like to temporarily disable your store instead, please do so by following the steps in our [How To Cancel Your Order Desk Store](/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-cancel-your-order-desk-store.md) guide.

The store deletion tool can be found in your [Store Settings](/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/manage-store-settings.md). To access your store settings, click on **Store Settings** under the **Settings** menu in the left sidebar:

![](/files/QuLBglqPdhwEaPxlD3wR)

Once you’ve accessed the Store Settings, click the tab labeled **Deletion**:

![](/files/jKHsIlz4hsm2LLrGus5C)

### Deleting Your Store

The Deletion tab contains all the information you need to begin the process of deleting your Order Desk store. You’ll be able to schedule your store for deletion by clicking the **Schedule for Deletion** button. Once you have opted to delete your store, it will take effect in 30 days.

![](/files/FU0xTuFaPXU7cziG5PJ1)

Store deletion is permanent and will remove **all** of the following:

* Orders
* Inventory Items
* Rules
* Email Templates
* Import and Export Templates
* Integrations and Integration Settings
* Store Users and User Access

### Ineligible Stores

A Child store is any Order Desk store that is linked to another store via billing, where the store processes payment of their Order Desk invoices on their behalf. This store is also known as the Parent store. If you are attempting to delete a Child store, this warning will appear:

![](/files/1nDjYQeiB8Nfxpk7zFCZ)

If you are attempting to delete a Parent store, this warning will appear instead:

![](/files/hCd3PLMWH9FhuiEVv94k)

In order to delete these stores they must be unlinked from within the Child store by an Admin User.

#### Unlinking Stores

To unlink your stores, click on **Billing** under the **Account** menu in the left sidebar from within one of your Child stores:

![](/files/VxWUQ0ZksPUIagIYURPH)

Once the Billing Settings page opens, you’ll be able to see the name of the store that you’re linked to. Click the **Unlink This Billing Account From (Store Name)** button to unlink the accounts.

![](/files/pDTj7rM4whaKDSs3urRl)

After the stores have been successfully unlinked, you can return to the Deletion tab in the Store Settings of the store you plan to delete and click the **Schedule for Deletion** button again.

### Confirming Store Deletion

Since store deletion is permanent, we have a few steps to confirm your decision. After clicking the **Schedule for Deletion** button, a pop-up will appear to confirm your choice. Click **I wish to delete this store** to confirm.

![](/files/loGrgZhq3gHp5MRHnSrx)

A second pop-up will appear. Click **I understand the implications** to move to the next step.

![](/files/nzmrRqBzUTqt73oYqaGA)

The final step is to enter the exact name of the current store in the **Store Name** field and click **Delete Store**.

![](/files/WqjXqWkOPObbjKRb44r7)

You’ll know that you have successfully finished the deletion scheduling process when you are redirected to the **Create New Store** page and prompted to click **OK** on the confirmation pop-up.

![](/files/e8hEHnZ0zfpktPaZmdSN)

### Canceling Store Deletion

Once 30 days has passed, your store will be permanently deleted. If you’d like to cancel deletion prior to that deadline, you may reach out to our support team [here](mailto:support@orderdesk.com) to do so.

### FAQ

#### Can I pause my store instead of deleting it?

Pausing your store is a great way to shut it down temporarily without losing your orders and settings. In order to do so, you’ll need to cancel your store. You can learn more about that [in this guide](/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-cancel-your-order-desk-store.md).

#### What if I change my mind?

No worries! If you opt to delete your store, you have 30 days to stop the pending deletion. If you do so your store will revert to a locked state, at which point you’ll be able to either leave it locked or select a billing plan and restart your subscription. However, once 30 days has passed there is no way for us to recover your store. If you’d like to stop the deletion process, please reach out to our [support team](mailto:support@orderdesk.com).

#### I just want to press one button and be done with it! Why are there so many warnings?

As a company that specializes in automation, we absolutely appreciate when things move instantaneously! That said, deleting your store removes everything *permanently*. We don’t keep an archive of deleted stores and we can’t recreate or rebuild them. These warnings are a way for us to confirm that you’re 100% sure you want to delete your store and for you to make sure you’re deleting the right store (if you have multiple).


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation dynamically by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the current page URL with the `ask` query parameter, and the optional `goal` query parameter:

```
GET https://help.orderdesk.com/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-delete-a-store.md?ask=<question>&goal=<endgoal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is optional and describes the broader end goal you are ultimately trying to accomplish on behalf of the user. GitBook uses it to tailor the answer towards what is most useful for that goal.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
