> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://help.orderdesk.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://help.orderdesk.com/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-cancel-your-order-desk-store.md).

# How to Cancel Your Order Desk Store

We understand that sometimes you’ll need to close down your Order Desk account. This is something that you can do right within your own Order Desk store following the instructions in this guide.

Before proceeding, you may want to consider the following:

* Export inventory, orders and any relevant reports first if necessary. Once your store is canceled, you will no longer be able to download or export your data.
* If your business needs a particular integration or feature in order to continue using Order Desk, [contact Order Desk support](https://www.orderdesk.com/contact/) to let us know. All requests are reviewed and saved, and new features are often built based on how many customers have asked for them.

### What Does Canceling Do?

When you cancel your Order Desk store, you are putting your store in a read-only mode where no activity can happen.

All of your content will be saved, but the store will remain locked unless you decide to upgrade again. If your store is already on a paid plan, once you lock your account, you will no longer be billed for service and your store will no longer function.

**Please note that locked accounts may be deleted on future audits.** If you plan to come back to Order Desk and do not want your store to be deleted, let Order Desk support know.

If you need to delete your store instead of locking and canceling it, you can do so from within your Store Settings page. For a step by step look at the deletion process, please see our [How to Delete a Store](/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-delete-a-store.md) guide.

### Canceling a Demo Store

If your demo store has never been upgraded to a paid plan, it will lock (cancel) itself 30 days from the day it was created.

You do not need to take further action, though you can follow the steps for [How to Cancel Your Account](#how-to-cancel-your-account) if you would like to lock your store ahead of schedule.

**For Shopify Merchants**

Uninstalling the Order Desk app from within Shopify does not cancel or remove your Order Desk store. You will still need to come into Order Desk to cancel your account following the steps below.

If you have a paid account, please be certain you have locked your Order Desk store, as billing will continue even if Shopify and Order Desk are no longer connected.

### How to Cancel Your Account

In Order Desk, click **Billing** in the left sidebar under the **Account** menu.

![](/files/6AhDHhVYfW5mR4ZfEuFb)

Click **Change Billing Plan**.

![](/files/m7Q3iPCOTiWPDDzuOJo2)

Click **Cancel My Account Now** to deactivate the store.

![](/files/3h2D2u5pOPcGbnbjeVi2)


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation dynamically by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the current page URL with the `ask` query parameter, and the optional `goal` query parameter:

```
GET https://help.orderdesk.com/guided-walkthroughs/using-order-desk/how-to-cancel-your-order-desk-store.md?ask=<question>&goal=<endgoal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is optional and describes the broader end goal you are ultimately trying to accomplish on behalf of the user. GitBook uses it to tailor the answer towards what is most useful for that goal.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
